Devil's Chair Dawdle or Dash

stiperstones hills

A 5k fell race with 600 ft of ascent

  • Latest Results
  • Event history

    Held on Boxing Day every year since 1978, the Devil's Chair Dawdle or Dash is possibly Shropshire's oldest fell race. Originally just an event for locals, it soon attracted top fell runners like Ken West. Recently the event was dominated by Welsh Champion Tim Davies and his brother, Commonwealth Games marathon runner Andy

    Tim's record of a little over 20 mins has stood for 10 years.

    The record for most completions goes to Jones brothers Viv and Neil who competed every year from the first race until 2015.

    One of the events most popular features is the members and friends of Shropshire Mines Trust who maintain a check point at the summit with generous supplies of whisky and brandy for those needing a pick me up.

    With entries passing the 300 mark and more and more supporters, the event puts a strain on village resources, especially parking places. A local farmer has kindly allowed us to use his large yard but we are still fearful of the beautiful sunny Boxing Day with a scattering of snow on the hill when a thousand people turn up.

    The event has raised nearly £20000 for local charities with the South Shropshire and Mid Wales Hospice being the chief recipient.

    Record Holders

  • Men 2006 Tim Davies Mercia 20:46
  • Women 2011 Alison Lavender Oswestry Olympians 25:10
  • M40 2011 Tim Werret Mercia 21:46
  • W40 2016 Anna Bartlett Mercia 27.13
  • M50 2011 Ed Davies Mercia 25:18
  • W50 2015 Jan Jeffies 34:50
  • M60 2015 Ed Davies Mercia 27:05
  • W60 2011 Tess Pearson 41:20